Friday Quotes #1 – Joss Whedon

Joss Whedon (1)

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I’m afraid of. ” – Joss Whedon

Is there a better explanation of why we write? When I’m having a crap day and I force myself to plant my butt and write a bit, I feel sooo much better! It reminds me that life doesn’t suck, that we can create good and shove it up the bad’s nose. I love knowing that if I get bored with my life (because, let’s face it, we all do at some point), I can become someone else. Someone in a different world, different problems, different ideas. I don’t have to rely on someone else driving the story, it’s all on me. It’s liberating and it’s terrifying. It’s why we write.

Untitled3

Leave a Reply

